Iran Travel Information, Tourism Industry News & Reports 

Unesco added a new World Heritage Sites to Iran, now 20 world heritage sites are in Iran!

Throughout the arid regions of Iran, agricultural and permanent settlements are supported by the ancient Qanat system of tapping alluvial aquifers at the heads of valleys and conducting the water along underground tunnels by gravity, often over many kilometers.

The eleven Qanats representing this system include rest areas for workers, water reservoirs and watermills. The traditional communal management system still in place allows equitable and sustainable water sharing and distribution.

The Qanats provide exceptional testimony to cultural traditions and civilizations in desert areas with an arid climate.

Qanats Unesco

Qanat Unesco

Qanats Unesco

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.